Printer Friendly Version

Missaukee County Board of Commissioners
Lake City, Michigan
Organizational Meeting
Missaukee County Annex Building
January 12th, 2010 @ 10:00 A.M.


 Meeting Called to Order by Clerk Flore.

 Roll Call of Districts – All present:

 Lan Bridson           District 1

Richard Renner      District 2

Dave Robinson       District 3

Susan Rogers          District 4

Dean Vivian            District 5

Star Hughston        District 6

Hubert Zuiderveen District 7

 Prayer offered by Clerk Flore and Pledge of Allegiance.

 Public comment - None

 Motion by Bridson, supported byRogersto approve Agenda as presented with the addition of the appointment of Chief Financial Officer and Choice of Depository during the Finance portion and a Veterans appointment during Personnel.  Carried.

 Nominations opened for 2010 Chairman.

 Motion by Vivian, supported by Zuiderveen to nominate Susan Rogers for Chairman.  Carried.

 Motion by Vivian, supported by Hughston to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot forRogers.   Carried

 Susan Rogers elected Chairman for the 2010 year.

 Motion by Hughston, supported by Vivian to nominate Zuiderveen for 2010 Vice-Chairman. Carried.

 Motion by Hughston, supported by Vivian to close nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Zuiderveen.  Carried.   

 Hubert Zuiderveen elected Vice-Chairman for the 2010 year. 

 Sheriff Bosscher presented his monthly update and gave a recap to the board on the year’s projects.

 Carol Palmer, District Court Administrator, reported to the board on the year’s collections and said she was pleased despite the economic times how much they had collected and had met the revenue budget of $100,000.

 Barb Hancock, Missaukee County Treasurer, presented 2009 investments, bank activity and informed them that they would received their year end report in February.  She also requested that the Board appoint Chemical Bank as the Primary bank for 2010 and the secondary banks be Fifth Third, Citizens, Northwestern and the Wexford Community Credit Union.

 Greg Debniak, Regional Census Director, explained the need for workers in Missaukee to help facilitate the census work.

Pam Niebrzydowski, COA Director, gave her quarterly report and updated the board on what has been happening this quarter and next year.  She also reviewed their proposed renewal of their millage.

 Misty Stark, Community Corrections Coordinator, requested that the board approve a resolution to renew the community corrections grant.

 Motion by Vivian, supported by Bridson to approve the following:

Resolution 2010 – 1

Community Corrections Grant

 Be it resolved that the Missaukee County Board of Commissioners approves the PA 511 Wexford – Missaukee Community Corrections Grant application for the period startingMarch 1, 2010onJanuary 12, 2010.


 Sherry Blaszak, Recycling Coordinator, gave an update on the revenues for the last several months, talked about donations and future equipment needs.  She also invited the board to the annual dinner on Feb 8, 2010.

 Finance Committee Reports

Motion by Vivian, supported by Renner to name Chemical Bank as the 2010 Depository.  Carried.

 Motion by Vivian, supported by Bridson to appoint Carolyn Flore as the Chief Financial Officer for 2010.  Carried

 Motion by Vivian, supported by Bridson to set the second Tuesday at10:00 AMfor the monthly Commissioners Meetings in the 2010 year.   Carried.

 Personnel Committee

 Motion by Bridson, supported by Zuiderveen to reappoint Jim Smith to the Veterans Board as the Korean Representative with a term expiring in 2013.  Carried

 Motion by Zuiderveen, supported by Bridson to approve Claims Accounts and Own Accounts.  Carried

 Commissioner Reports

 Zuiderveen reported on the Health Dept meeting, Robinson reported on the Energy Plan and requested that it be added to the next Finance meeting, Renner reported on MSU extension proposed changes coming up, and Sunday is St Agean Day for Right to Life.

 Public Comment

 Don Sears asked if anything was happening at the Planning Commission meeting.

 Meeting was adjourned untilFebruary 9, 2010at 10:00 AM or Call of the Chair.


____________________________      _________________________ 
Susan Rogers, Chairman                                    Carolyn Flore, Clerk